On The Rocks~A Review

On the Rocks by Riley Scott is a well-written, rebound/second-chance romance that I was really looking forward to. I did enjoy the story overall, but I also have some mixed feelings about the tale.

This is the story of Lennon Willis and Alex Daniels. Their first meeting ends up being what the two think is a one night stand. Both women are recovering from recent heartbreak and have no desire to start a new relationship with anyone. The problem is they can’t deny the chemistry that exists between them, and they seem to be constantly running into each other. Finally they decide on a no-strings-attached/friends-with-benefits affair. Yeah…we all know how well that’s going to work out.

The premise of this story is good. The setting of the book is perfect for the two characters. A beach town on the Alabama/Florida border works for bar owner Lennon and artist Alex. I must also mention the absolutely stunning and eye-catching cover to this novel. It really draws the potential reader to the book.

My problem with the story involves the characters. I connected with most of them, but I had trouble connecting with Lennon. The problem with this is, Lennon is the main character, and we see a lot of the story through her. I understand this is an angst filled tale, but Lennon needed to grow a little faster in the story than she did.

As I said above, this is a well-written novel, and other than that one character, I really enjoyed the story. I’m giving this a 3.5 star rating, and will be looking for more from this author.

I received an ARC from NetGalley and Bella Books for an honest review.

Leave a comment