The Last Time We Met~A Review

Sometimes we all need to sit back and enjoy a book that is fun, easy to read, and satisfying in an “aww” kind of way. That is exactly what I found when I read The Last Time We Met by Maggie Brown and Leni Hanson.

This is the love story of two women who briefly met about eleven years before the time of the novel. For pre-med student Merritt Harrington, it was a life altering moment in more ways than one. For Australian rock star Austen Farleigh, it was one more forgettable one night stand attempt that she soon forgot. Fast forward eleven years, and the two meet again when both head to Australia for a holiday. Merritt is just back from a devastating assignment for Doctors Without Borders when she runs into Austen. Sparks fly, and the chemistry begins to build, but can Merritt overcome the humiliation she has felt for years because of Austen? And can she trust this seemingly new and more mature woman she is getting to know?

I’m glad that I read this story. It is a romance with well-developed characters, and several stunningly beautiful settings. I admit that at the beginning of the book, I couldn’t see how Merritt and Austen would have a happily ever after. They are so very different, but the authors did a great job with forming the chemistry between the two and proving to me that they are a match for each other. Once or twice I felt the plot became a little unrealistic, but hey, this is a fictional romance, so I didn’t let it bother me. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed the book. If you are looking for an easy to read, sweet romance, then try The Last Time We Met.

I received an ARC from NetGalley and Bella Books for an honest review.

Leave a comment