The Noble and The Nightingale~A Review

When I heard that Barbara Ann Wright was starting a new fantasy series about three sisters (The Sisters of Sarras), I knew I wanted to read these books. The Noble and the Nightingale is a very intriguing beginning to this series.

This book tells the story of the eldest sister, Adella del Amanecer who works long hours as an Ambassador to the kingdom of Sarras. She has little time for romance. That changes though when she meets Bridget Leir, a nightingale (think troubadour). Bridget is actually an ex-spy for the Firellian Empire, and could be hanged if anyone in Sarras finds out about her past.

This novel has something for everyone. I loved the world building. This world seems more like an alternate universe rather than a fantasyland which works better for me. There is still plenty of the paranormal and magic for those looking for fantasy elements. One of the sisters is a mage herself. The story also has adventure, mystery, and even a murder that has to be solved. And of course we can’t forget the love story between Adella and Bridget which is definitely a slow-burn romance with many hurdles that could keep them apart forever.

The tale is well-written. The setting and world building is superb. The characters are well developed and easy to connect with. The story kept my interest from the first page to the last.

The ending does feel a bit rushed, and not everything is completed, but that really doesn’t bother me too much since I know the story does not end with this book. The tale will continue with at least two more novels, and I will be waiting impatiently for the next one.

I received an ARC from NetGalley and Bold Strokes Books for an honest review.

Leave a comment